Simply D.L.

Starting on Zines and Minicomics | March 19, 2009

Uh huh. I see I need to clean up some tumbleweeds around here. Or maybe put up a mailbox to show that this blog is still beating its tiny little magnet-pulsive heart?

I have a plan for this spring 2009, or that is when my academic spring quarter begins. I hope I could maintain the discipline of producing photocopied zines with a minicomic emphasis. And it will be also named “Simply D.L.: Comics and Such.”

I have been meaning to do this, as in have it launch in beginning of 2009, but wasn’t sure how to get one started. So yesterday night, I was at the college library randomly searching for stuff related to graphic design and I decided to just type in ‘mini comic.’ Just to see if something like that exists with that in its title.

I was surprised to find out about Whatcha Mean, What’s a Zine? by Esther Watson and Mark Todd. It’s cool that the library has a juvenile section that this book was availible for checkout. Seems like young adult, but anybody regardless of age interested in publishing their own stuff, in paper and ink mind you. Something worth checking out if you are interested in creating a zine/minicomic.

I think one great example is John Porcellino. His work is the first minicomic I came across a year or two ago. He has a selection of his minicomics published by Drawn & Quarterly with the name Kingcat Comics.


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment